Homemade Healthy “Nutella”

I’m posting here, what seems to be the most popular post from my Facebook page! I want to add that I am not a chef (although I do come from a cooking family), but I like to eat healthy food and so this means, a lot of home cooking! Luckily I have a lovely kitchen to work from!

Nutella, who doesn’t know about this product, either from recent news or your childhood when it was wrapped in a pancake, gorgeous! But, I hate to say it , rightly so, has gotten some desperate bad press recently! Although looking at the ingredients in Nutella, I can’t believe the palm oil is the only item making headlines! Sugar, although not stated what source, vegetable oil and if that’s Palm oil, then I’m imagining that the sugar source is not much better! Soy lecithin, more than likely GMO and milk, which if you have a dairy intolerance, is a no-no.

Screen Shot 2013-07-03 at 10.44.59 PM

After making it myself, I can’t see how Néstle got it so wrong! It’s so easy to make it at home, no sugar and no dairy!

There are LOADS of healthy alternative on the net. I never saw these before I came up with mine, but have a look and find a recipe that suits you!

THE GOODIES

So what are we getting that is so good from this recipe! Well Hazelnuts, and a lot of them! The protein and fat from the nuts, help stabilise blood sugar levels, making it good for diabetics and pre-diabetics alike. The oleic acid in these nuts make it great for cholesterol control and calcium and magnesium are great for our nerves! Further magnesium is found in the loverly dark chocolate and finally the coconut oil and cream, wonder foods! They are, (deep breath) anti-viral, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, reduces stress on the pancreas, improves digestion meaning we absorb nutrients better, helps release energy more efficiently, promotes healthy cholesterol and taste good!

Heres the Recipe, let me know how you get on!

RECIPE:

1 jar of Hazelnut butter

2/3 tablespoons vegan butter or coconut oil

3/4 block of dark chocolate (I used 85%)

2 tbspns Coconut milk

Vanilla essence

Pinch of salt

Try and use products that are room temperature. Melt and mix together gently the coconut milk, butter or coconut oil, dark chocolate until very well melted. In a bowl or the jar you are going to store the “nutella”, add the hazelnut butter and chocolate mixture together, add a few drops of vanilla extract and a pinch of salt! Mix all well together!

Perfect for kids or teenagers or even adults, who say they haven’t got time for brekkie on wholemeal toast!

20130703-230131.jpg

One thought on “Homemade Healthy “Nutella”

  1. Pingback: Homemade Healthy “Nutella” |

Leave a Reply

