Easy DIY Dry Shampoo for Non-toxic Hair care

20140803-174043-63643746.jpgLooks I’ve started a green, safe, non-toxic hair care theme last week and thought, sure, let’s go the whole hog and make August my hair care month. Everything I’ve learnt about changing your products, styling techniques, what to expect going green (I’m always paranoid that I use the word green so much, people are going to think I’m talking about green coloured hair!), the transition and my hair care routine, will be posted in August.  If I have left something out or you have a particular question, just post it here and Ill answer directly or if its going to be a long answer I’ll answer as a post.  As I’ve mentioned time and time again, hair care in the biggest hurdle when detoxing your personal care routine.  Standard products are full of chemicals which are absorbed into your system, disrupting your natural internal healing mechanism.  Not only that but from someone who has completely changed their products, previously had hair regrowth problems, your hair is soooo much better with a safe, natural, green hair routine.

Ingredients of a well known UK dry shampoo: Butane, Isobutane, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Propane, Alcohol Denat, Parfume, Limonene, Linanool, Geranol, Benzyl Benzoate, Distearyldimonium, Cetrimonium Chloride

Ok, let’s get down to business, dry shampoo. When I was growing up dry shampoo had a bad rep.  It dried out your hair, smelled foul and caused an unmerciful itch.  Looking at the ingredients I can kinda see why.  So when I mention to people who dry shampoo will become a stable in their new routine they look at me suspiciously.  That’s when I pull out the “Trust me, I’m a homeopath” card.  As if all homeopaths are saints.  We are of course 🙂

DRY SHAMPOO RECIPE AND WHEN TO USE

I only wash my hair once, maybe twice a week now, and my hair does not look greasy at all but after a few days, can look flat.  It can get ever so slightly oily looking in the front, sometimes , for a few reasons. I use the OCM to cleanse my face and sometimes my grapeseed oil can get into my hair.  I love a really rich moisturizer like my Therapi or Weleda and this can get into the front roots.  Finally, down here in France it is mental hot and sunscreen, sweat or jumping in and out of the pool, to not combust, will obviously have its effects on your hair.

Too keep my hair oil free and to give volume on the days it’s a bit flat, I use a small dusting of dry shampoo.

It only takes 3 ingredients to make and last ages. The first two ingredients arrowroot powder and corn starch are equal parts and the cocoa powder, as much as your hair colour dictates but no more than 1 tablespoon. I’ve even have blondes using this combination. More cocoa powder though than that and you risk your scalp taking a slight orange tinge giving people the impression you are trying to hide a dodgy dye job.

HOW TO APPLY DRY SHAMPOO
I keep my dry shampoo in a little jar which people find strange. They wonder how I apply the powder to my hair as most dry shampoos are kept in a spray can or have a shaker/brush application.  I have tried these brands but don’t like how they distribute the powder on my hair.  I want most of it on my roots and as little as possible on the rest.  I have found the easiest and best way to apply the shampoo to your hair and roots in with a large make-up brush.  I start on the centre split, dab  the brush as few times on the roots and then section where I think I need a bit of a lift or soakage.  Follow this, I concentrate on the front triangle, so forehead and temples.  I find this is the area that gets in any way oily looking.  Then, wait a few minutes and brush with a bristle brush.  I use a bristle brush, and this is probably rank as, if Im going out that evening and use the same brush to spruce myself through the night, the powder that stays in the bristles gives my hair a bit of a perk! Gross but effective!

AFTERCARE

Once a week or if I’ve gone a bit overboard with the dry shampoo, I feel a good scalp exfoliation is in order.  This might not be the case but I imagine  the powder may block hair follicles.  Like I said, this could be in my head!  I often look out new products that nourish the scalp like avocado oil and during my deep conditioner, I use my wider tooth comb to give the skin there a slight gommage.

SHOPPING LIST20140803-174115-63675210.jpg

  • Arrowroot Powder
  • Corn Starch
  • Cocoa Powder

Let me know how you all get on and hope you enjoy adding to your green hair care routine!!!

10 thoughts on “Easy DIY Dry Shampoo for Non-toxic Hair care

  1. Love a good homemade dry shampoo! I definitely hear ya about the block hair follicles though. I know I’ve gone overboard/need to wash when I get a spot on my scalp! Gross, I know…

    Mayah x

  2. Ahh I need to try this! Haircare has been my biggest struggle since going green and I am the same as you, using OCM and rich moisturisers at night means my fringe gets greasy quickly and I always need a bit of a spruce up with dry shampoo! I have one at the minute from Ambiance and the ingredients are too bad but the brush applicator gets everywhere :\ not to mention the £10 price tag!! Definitely bookmarking this for when I run out, thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award! | Julia Homeopath

  4. This is amazing! 🙂 i am having huge issues with the baking soda though – seems lank and greasy every time i use it. I am in Australia so the organic swimmers shampoo is not available here. Any thoughts on twaeks to the BS? (Baking soda not the other BS!)

  5. I’m definitely going to try this. It’s difficult to find safe, non-toxic hair styling products for use on my clients. I am excited that by adding the cocoa powder you can adjust the hair color for all hair shades. And I bet it’s a lot cheaper than traditional dry shamppo. Excited to try!

Leave a Reply

